Last month, the EU published the Recovery and Resilience Scoreboard thematic analysis on Culture and Creative industries, illustrating the impacts of the Recover and Resilience Facility in the sector following the COVID-19 pandemic.

Policies have been focusing on alleviating the consequences of the crisis and supporting the sector's recovery (through programs such as the Media and Audiovisual Plan or CultureEU). 

By March 2022, the Council had endorsed 22 recovery and resilience plans. Sixteen include measures targeting culture and the creative industries, allocating all together €10,1 billion (2,3% of the funds). 

Some countries implemented legislative reforms to improve the working conditions of artists and cultural workers, while others introduced funding system reforms for the cultural sector or institutions (RO, CZ), with the majority of them addressing the digital and green transitions and their opportunities in some way (AT, BE, HR, EL, SK FI, FR, LV, IT, ES, LT, PT, SI, CZ).

Support for European culture and creative industries' competitiveness, innovation, and globalization was addressed through new modernization initiatives, improved access to financing, innovation vouchers (CZ), and reforms/investments in national educational systems (EL, FR).

States also included measures aimed at increasing the funds dedicated to the creation and production of cultural content, promoting cultural tourism, democratizing culture, and indirectly supporting the sector (e.g. green construction, digitalization of small and medium-sized enterprises, financial instruments open to all companies, or digital skills training for workers).

The document finishes with a presentation of "Good practices" from all these 16 Member-States. 

Austria (AT); Belgium (BE); Bulgaria (BG); Croatia (HR); Cyprus (CY); Czechia (CZ); Denmark (DK); Estonia (EE); Finland (FI); France (FR); Germany (DE); Greece (EL); Hungary (HU); Ireland (IE); Italy (IT); Latvia (LV) Lithuania (LT); Luxembourg (LU); Malta (MT); Netherlands (NL); Poland (PL); Portugal (PT); Romania (RO); Spain (ES); Slovakia (SK) ; Slovenia (SI); Sweden (SE)

The European Commission owns all image copyrights.