The City Council of Vitoria-Gasteiz has published an article on its website looking about the upcoming Interreg Europe Intensify Project Thematic Event . The English translation of the article is given here:

A meeting of the Intensify project will take place in Vitoria-Gasteiz from the 21st to the 23rd May. Ther project commenced in 2018 with the aim of reducing carbon emissions through the empowering of local communities.

Vitoria-Gasteiz, through the Centre for Environmental Studies, participates together with several other Cities in Europe in the Intensify project. The aim is to tackle in an innovative way one of the great challenges of cities, the reduction of carbon emissions.

On May 21st, 22nd and 23rd May our city will host the fourth Project meeting, focusing on Digital Social Platforms. The project proposes the use of these platforms, to create greater awareness among citizens about the need to reduce their carbon footprint.

The project propose to target, motivate and financially incentivise citizen groups and local agents to support the improvement of local policies and encourage community behaviour on issues of carbon emissions.

The European Union, it's regions and municipalities, are bound by international treaties to reduce their emissions. However public authorities cannot do this on their own since they are directly responsible for only a small percentage of the emissions in their area.  The objectives are so ambitious that require a significant change of behaviour amongst the citizenry.

During the project it is planned to analyse the plans for reducing emissions that each participating region has. Subsequently good practices will be proposed to improve these plans in the filed of citizen participation, through visits to other cities and through the organisation of specialized workshops.

The duration of the project is five years, it will end in May 2023. The total budget is €2,092,955, financed by the Interreg Europe program and of which €249,997 has been allocated to Vitoria-Gasteiz. The other participating cities are Cork (Ireland), Milton Keynes (UK), Province of Treviso (Italy), Trnava (Slovakia), Almada (Portugal), Zadar (Croatia), Dessau Roblau (Germany).

The original Spanish version can be found at the following webpage: